European Parliament nominates Bialiatski, Lobau and Statkevich for Sakharov prize


40 European MPs signed for the nomination of the Belarusian political prisoners for this prestigeous prize.

The collection of signatures was organized by the MEPs Marek Migalski and Philippe Kaczmarek, as well as the deputy head of the European Parliament Jacek Protasiewicz. This information was given to the Polish media by Marek Migalski.

Among other things, the Belarusian political prisoners will be competing for the prize with former CIA officer Edward Snovdenam, nominated for it by the “green” fraction of the European Parliament.

Sakharov Prize was established by the European Parliament in 1988. It is given for achievements in the field of human rights and democracy. In 2004, the Sakharov Prize was received the Belarusian Association of Journalists, and in 2006 the winner was Aliaksandr Milinkevich.

The winner of this year’s award will be announced in October.

Share this article

Share to Google Plus
Share to LiveJournal
Share to MyWorld
Share to Odnoklassniki
Share to Yandex

Leave a reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Current ye@r *